Woodlands Trail

WOODLANDS TRAIL (K-5TH)WoodlandsTrail-2

The Woodlands Trail is for Kindergarten through 5th Grade:

  • Foxes – Kindergarten to 1st grade
  • Hawks – 2nd to 3rd grade
  • Mountain Lions – 4th to 5th grade

More Information: http://www.traillifeusa.com/who-we-are/for-youth/

“Six F’s” to Each Meeting

  • Focus – Program theme
  • Fingers – Hands on activity
  • Fun – Enjoyable Activity
  • Family – Extending the lesson to the home
  • Forest Badge – Skill leaves completed during meeting towards advancement program
  • Faith – Exploring biblical themes related to meeting theme


  • Earn leaves based on attendance, participation in activities/projects (individual or group), mastering skills
  • Leaves fill each of seven branches of interest
  • Upon completing all seven branches over the course of (roughly) two years, earn the Forest Award for that level (Fox, Hawk, Mountain Lion)

Seven branches of interest – collect leaves on each branch to earn branch award:

  1. Heritage
  2. Hobbies
  3. Life Skills
  4. Outdoor Activities
  5. Pioneering Skills
  6. Science and Technology
  7. Values (faith)

Annual Program Calendar delineates:

  • Number of meetings planned for that month,
  • Monthly Theme
  • Program Emphasis (Wisdom, Teamwork, Heritage, Faith, Character, Leadership, etc.)
  • Branch award emphasis (Life Skills, Hobbies, etc.)

Additional Award beyond Mountain Lion

  • Timekeepers Award – learning about principles of biblical manhood
    • To live boldly and avoid being passive
    • To live responsibly
    • To lead courageously
    • To live for greater rewards of God
  • Based on book by Robert Lewis “Raising a Modern Day Knight” (used with permission by Focus on the Family)